email with Armstrong

English language haystack
Paul
Platinum Member

email with Armstrong

Post by Paul »

Dear Mr Armstrong,

I would first like to thank you for the best education I ever had, If it wasn't for your articles I would still be wandering through the dense forest of political spin.

My profession is computer programmer, And it is from that perspective I started to look at the monetary system. When you set yourself the task of writing a functional model to catch all the flows to be able to write the software, you will discover the problems are in the money itself. It is all about double functionality. Done like this this sucker will never perform.

In one of your last articles you write there should be a seperation between politics and economy, just as we seperated church and state. I came to the same conclusoen myself a while ago, there is this strange balance between money and power that is almost fractal. three functions, and all three should be separated. And I am thinking they are also in function alike. church = store of value, state = unit of account, market = medium of exchange.

What I did not see is how we could possibly seperate market and state, where I could see it as a necessity. This was until I read the work of Bernard Lietaer.
The solution for this problem is to create a different complementary state currency to be used in those domains where competition is unwanted. we are living in the information age now, networktechnology, economy is about scarcity, but education, healthcare and public order to name a few, are domains in society scarcity has nothing to do with. These domains are, just as information, about sharing. and these domains call for a different currency to get the resource and the demand together, A unit of account in hours would seem most logical. a nice name for it, I am european, would be the houro.